Arcade Fire – The Suburbs

The Suburbs is the third studio album by the Canadian indie rock band Arcade Fire, released in August 2010. Coinciding with the announcement the band released a limited edition 12-inch single containing two tracks from the album, “The Suburbs” and “Month of May”. The album debuted at No. 1 on the Irish Albums Chart, the UK Albums Chart, the US Billboard 200 chart and the Canadian Albums Chart. It won Album of the Year at the 2011 Grammy Awards, Best International Album at the 2011 BRIT Awards, Album of the Year at the 2011 Juno Awards, and the 2011 Polaris Music Prize for best Canadian album.

Collating 43 reviews, the review aggregator website Metacritic gave The Suburbs an average score of 87, indicating “universal acclaim”. Writing for BBC Music, Mike Diver described the album as the band’s “most thrillingly engrossing chapter yet; a complex, captivating work that, several cycles down the line, retains the magic and mystery of that first tentative encounter” and stated that “you could call it their OK Computer.”Several reviewers compared The Suburbs favourably to Arcade Fire’s earlier work. Ian Cohen of Pitchfork Media gave the album called it “a satisfying return to form—proof that Arcade Fire can still make grand statements without sounding like they’re carrying the weight of the world”.